Union minister Hardeep Singh Puri was among the many 10 newly elected and re-elected members of Rajya Sabha

New Delhi:

Union minister Hardeep Singh Puri was among the many 10 newly elected and re-elected members of the Rajya Sabha from the states of UP, Uttarakhand and Karnataka who had been administered oath within the Chamber of the Higher Home on Monday.

Because of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the administration of oath/affirmation was completed within the chamber of the Rajya Sabha for the second time throughout inter-session.

The 10 members who took oath had been Narayana Koragappa from Karnataka, Brijlal, Geeta alias Chandraprabha, Ramji, Hardwar Dubey, Hardeep Singh Puri, Neeraj Shekhar, B L Verma and Ram Gopal Yadav (all from Uttar Pradesh) and Naresh Bansal from Uttarakhand.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu welcomed the newly elected and re-elected members and conveyed his greatest needs after the oath-taking ceremony.

He requested them to undergo publications titled ”Rajya Sabha at work”, ”Apply and Process of Parliament by Kaul and Shakdher”, ”Members Handbook”, ”Rule Guide” and different books associated to parliamentary practices earlier than the following session commenced in order that they turn out to be conversant with the follow and procedures of the Home.

He added that the folks have a whole lot of expectations from the members and accordingly suggested them to keep up excessive requirements of conduct in public life.

Mr Naidu emphasised that as Rajya Sabha is a Home of Elders, kids and folks at giant look upto its members for steerage and recommendation, and accordingly, he mentioned, it’s crucial to keep up excessive requirements of conduct which provides to the decency, dignity and decorum of the Home.


He additionally suggested the members to concentrate on three D’s specifically ”debate, talk about and determine” and keep away from taking recourse to disruption.

Expressing his concern concerning the prevailing pandemic, Naidu referred to as upon the members to observe the rules issued by the central and state governments in order to set an instance for the general public.

The chairman additionally burdened upon the need of carrying masks and sustaining ”a secure distance”, mentioning that he prefers the phrase “Surakshit Doori” over “Samajik Doori“.

He knowledgeable that the oath taking ceremony was held to allow members to take part and contribute in committee proceedings throughout the inter-session interval.

Chief of the Home Thaawarchand Gehlot, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Pralhad Joshi, Ministers of State for Parliamentary Affairs V Muraleedharan and Arjun Ram Meghwal, and Minister of Schooling Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank had been additionally current on the event.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *